The Shinkansen N700S

  • Published on : 20/07/2017
  • by : Japan Experience

The new shinkansen model

The N700S is the 6th generation model based on the N700 series. It will debut in 2020 on the main Shinkansen line in Japan, the Tokaido Line.

It debuted in 2020 on the main Shinkansen line in Japan, the Tokaido Shinkansen Line between Tokyo and Shin-Osaka, covered by the Japan Rail Pass, as well as accessible with individual train tickets

The S suffix represents the word « Supreme » as the JR Central Railway says the train are intended to be the best of the N700 series.

JR Central also released 5 models before the Tokyo Olympics to replace the oldest N700. 



©ArminEP, pixabay

What ’s new ?

  • All seats will have power outlet for mobile device,
  • The front will have a more angular look which makes it appear less streamlined,
  • The reclining seat are designed so that the back rest and the seat move In tandem for greater comfort,
  • The number of security cameras inside the train will increase.

The N700 series is operating on the Tokaido Line and the Sanyo Line with the Nozomi, Hikari, Kodama train. In 2013, the N700A series was launched, with a A suffixe which means Advanced.




©chester adams, unsplash

Latest Articles

The Sanyo Shinkansen Line 

Sanyo Shinkansen: Your guide to Japan's western bullet train line

The Sanyo Shinkansen is a high-speed bullet train line connecting major cities in western Japan. It runs from Shin-Osaka to Hakata (Fukuoka), passing through Kobe, Himeji, Okayama, and Hiroshima.

The Shinkansen network

The Shinkansen Bullet Train Network

The first Shinkansen was issued for public use in 1964, right before the Summer Olympics held in Tokyo that same year.

Tokaido Shinkansen

Tokaido Shinkansen - The Bullet Train Connecting Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka

The bullet train going from Tokyo to Osaka has three different lines. What's the difference? Read more to find out.

See All (24)