The Shinkansen Bullet Train Network

  • Published on : 26/06/2022
  • by : Japan Experience
  • Rating :

Which Shinkansen is which?

The first Shinkansen was issued for public use in 1964, right before the Summer Olympics held in Tokyo that same year. At the time, it was a marvel of true innovation in the transportation world and, to many, represented Japan's rapid development after the Second World War.

From North to South

The Shinkansen is Japan's high-speed train network and the most practical way to travel across the country, as its high speeds and ease of use make it great from commuting between prefectures without the need to book tickets well in advance, check in, or go through intense security, as compared to traveling via airplane!

There are eight main Shinkansen lines, each of which has a number of services in operation. These services can be categorized as follows:

  • Express trains (特急) only stop at major stations and are the fastest Shinkansen trains
  • Semi-express trains (急行) stop at more stations; they are slower than Express trains but faster than Local trains
  • Local trains (各駅停車) stop at every station on the route and therefore are the slowest.

Due to their oftentimes poetic names, it can be difficult to determine which service you should take for your trip. Here's a rundown of all Shinkansen lines and their services!

They are all covered by the Japan Rail Pass, including the Nozomi and Mizuho Shinkansen bullet trains that are part of the Tokaido-Sanyo Shinkansen network; however, they require an additional fee that varies depending on the departing station and arriving station.

Map of the JR Regional Passes

Traveling north

The Hokuriku Shinkansen has four different services:

  • Asama Shinkansen- Shorter journey between Tokyo to Nagano
  • Kagayaki Shinkansen- Tokyo to Kanazawa, with only a few stops in between, including Nagano and Toyama.
  • Hakutaka Shinkansen- Goes from Tokyo to Kanazawa with more stops in between.
  • Tsurugi Shinkansen- Goes between Toyama and Kanazawa and is often used by those commuting to work.

The Joetsu Shinkansen has two services in operation:

  • Toki Shinkansen- Fastest between Tokyo and Niigata that makes the journey in around 2 hours. Some Toki trains use 2-story train sets and are known as Max Toki.
  • Tanigawa Shinkansen- Serves all stations between Tokyo Station and Echigo-Yuzawa Station. During the winter, some trains stop at Gala Yukawa Station.

The Yamagata Shinkansen only has one service:

  • Tsubasa Shinkansen- Runs between Tokyo and Shin-jo in 3hours 30 mins. The Torei-yu Tsubasa is a unique train running mainly on weekends between Fukushima and Shinjo.
The Shinkansen network
Hokkaido Shinkansen: Sapporo ↔ Aomori via Hakodate
Tohoku Shinkansen: Morioka ↔ Tokyo via Sendai
Akita Shinkansen: Morioka ↔ Akita
Yamagata Shinkansen: Fukushima ↔ Shinjo
Joetsu Shinkansen: Tokyo ↔ Niigata
Hokuriku Shinkansen: Tokyo ↔ Kanazawa via Nagano and Toyama
Tokkaido Shinkansen: Tokyo ↔ Osaka via Nagoya and Kyoto
Sanyo Shinkansen: Osaka ↔ Hakata via Okayama and Hiroshima
Kyushu Shinkansen: Hakata ↔ Kagoshima via Kumamoto

The Akita Shinkansen has one service:

  • Komachi Shinkansen- Goes between Tokyo and Akita with stops at Sendai and Morioka. All carriages on these trains require a reservation. 

The Tohoku Shinkansen has two different services:

  • Yamabiko Shinkansen- The fastest running as far north as Morioka, although some terminate at Sendai.
  • Nasuno Shinkansen- The slowest one and serves all the station between Tokyo and Koriyama.

The Hokkaido Shinkansen has two services, as well:

  • Hayabusa Shinkansen- Reaches Shin-Hakodate and Hokkaido in 4hours with the fastest train. Note that all seats for this train must be reserved in advance.
  • Hayate Shinkansen- Operates one return service per day between Morioka and Shin Hakodate and one return service between Shin-Aomori and Shin-Hakodate.
Hokkaido shinkansen

Hokkaido shinkansen

©Andy Leung, pixabay

Going south

The Tokaido Shinkansen has three types of services:

  • Nozomi Shinkansen- The fastest service, connecting Tokyo to Kyoto in 2 hours, 40 minutes. Requires a supplemental fee to ride with the JR Pass. 
  • Hikari Shinkasen- The second-fastest service, taking about three hours from Tokyo to Shin Osaka. 
  • Kodama Shinkansen- is the slowest train, as it stops at every station between Tokyo and Shin Osaka.
Tokaido Shinkansen

Tokaido Shinkansen

©fikri-rasyid, unsplash

The Kyushu Shinkansen, has three types of Shinkansen:

  • Mizuho Shinkansen- The fastest train service, stopping at Hakata, Kumamoto and Kagoshima-Chuo. Requires a supplementary charge to ride with the JR Pass. 
  • Sakura Shinkansen- Second-fastest train service to Kyushu. 
  • Tsubame Shinkansen- Stops at all stations on the way to Kyushu. 
Kyushu Shinkansen

Kyushu Shinkansen


Buy a JR Pass for unlimited travel on the Shinkansen network!

  • Included : Economic and simple, Unlimited travel
Japan Rail Pass

Latest Articles

Un voyageur dans un Shinkansen regarde le Mont Fuji

Shinkansen Bullet Trains in Japan

The best way to travel around Japan is on a high speed Bullet Train. Order your Japan Rail Pass today online!


Can I ride the Nozomi & Mizuho Shinkansen with the Japan Rail Pass?

The Shinkansen bullet train is hailed as one of the most premium and efficient means of rail travel in the entire world, making it a popular choice for visitors to Japan who are engaging in

Japan Visitor - joetsu2018.jpg

Joetsu Shinkansen

Joetsu Shinkansen: read a guide to the Joetsu Shinkansen which connects Tokyo Station with Niigata Station in Niigata via Echigo Yuzawa.

See All (24)


Rate the content

  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star

Your comment

Enter the characters shown in the image.
* Required fields