Sonic Train ソニック 九州

Sonic Train1

The Sonic Limited Express Train


Sonic Train From Hakata to Oita ソニック: JR Kyushu's Sonic is an express train running from Hakata Station in Fukuoka to Oita via Beppu.

There are two types of Sonic Express: the white model 885 and the blue model 883 (pictured right). The Sonic trains have a top speed of 130 kph.

Eiji Motooka

Along with a number of other trains in Kyushu, the Sonic Express was designed by Eiji Motooka. His other classic trains include the Yufuin no Mori, the Kawasemi-Yamasemi and the luxurious Seven Stars.

Sonic Train2

Sonic Express Train From Hakata (Fukuoka) to Oita Station in Oita Prefecture

@Japan All Over

Latest Articles

Golden week

Golden Week Travel Advice

Japan will celebrate Golden Week from April 29 to May 7, 2023, which comprises four national holidays: Showa Day on April 29, Constitutional Memorial Day on May 3, Greenery Day on May 4, and Childr

Narita Airport Ticket Office

Japan Rail Pass Exchange Offices

Japan Rail Pass Exchange Offices: the major offices throughout Japan where an Exchange Order can be exchanged for a Japan Rail Pass. Below are a few of the 51 offices throughout Japan where the Exc

Train Conductor in Japan


If you want to optimize your time when taking the train in Japan, you should plan your routes well in advance (and ensure that you order your Japan Rail Pass prior to departing for Japan).

See All (124)