The Limited Express Sonic

Travel from Fukuoka to Oita

northern kyushu

The Limited Express Sonic is a JR train that makes several convenient stops in the island of Kyushu. If you are traveling in southern Japan with a JR Pass, Kyushu Pass, or North Kyushu Pass, this express train is a great way to access some of the top spots quickly and efficiently.

The Ltd. Express Sonic starts at Hakata Station (the main station in Fukuoka), your gateway to both the Sanyo Shinkansen, providing access to western Honshu, and the Kyushu Shinkansen, which travels down to Kumamoto and Kagoshima : 
 - How to go from Fukuoka (Hakata Station) to Kumamoto ? 
 - How to go from Kumamoto to Kagoshima ? 
The Sonic ends in Oita, a large but unremarkable city, but before that it stops at Beppu Station. Beppu is a coastal town, home to countless onsen (hot springs), as well as unique “hell springs” with fantastical colors. From Beppu Station, you can also access Yufuin, another elegant and famous hot spring area.
From one end to the other, the Sonic makes about a two-hour journey. If you are traveling with a JR Green Car Pass, the green car has extra comfortable seats and a panoramic view!

Reservations are free with a JR Pass, click here to read more.

Your Pass at the best price

National JR Pass From $ 278
JR Kansai Pass From $ 22
JR Kyushu Pass From $ 140
JR Shikoku Pass From $ 82
JR West Pass From $ 183
JR Hokkaido Pass From $ 159
JR Central Pass From $ 130
JR East Pass From $ 246

Latest Tips

Covid-19: How to cancel my trip to Japan

Information on how to request a cancellation for your order
Coronavirus what you need to know

Useful Links and Information for Travel to Japan
Covid-19: Cancellation fees and policies by product

Cancellation terms and fees per product for a refund.