The Kyushu Shinkansen

Go south from Fukuoka to Kagoshima

kyushu bullet train

Kagoshima with the Kyushu Shinkansen
Since 2011, the Kyushu Shinkansen has a new extension providing services from Hakata (Fukuoka Station) to Kagoshima ( 257 km) : 
- How to go from Fukuoka to Kumamoto ? 
- How to go from Kumamoto to Kagoshima ? 

The Tsubame shinkansen is the shinkansen that runs between Hakata and Kagoshima and stops at all stations.

The Sakura shinkansen is sometimes connected to Shin Osaka and most of them do not stop between Kurume and Kumamoto. The name "Sakura" recalls the flowering of cherry trees so popular in Japan. It was also the name of an express train linking Tokyo and Nagasaki until 2005.
Kyushu shinkansen map with a Japan Rail Pass
The Mizuho shinkansen is the fastest train stopping only at Hakata, Kumamoto and Kagoshima. Please note that JRP holders cannot take the Mizuho.

The stations on the train line are as follows :

  • Shin-Tosu
  • Kurume
  • Chikugo Funagoya
  • Shin-Omuta
  • Shin-Tamana
  • Kumamoto
  • Shin-Yatsuhiro
  • Shin-Minamata
  • Izumi
  • Sendai
Kyushu shinkansen interior
If by chance you  travel on a shinkansen 800, you will discover the beautiful japanese art and crafts decoration.

Your Pass at the best price

National JR Pass From $ 267
JR Kansai Pass From $ 20
JR Kyushu Pass From $ 138
JR Shikoku Pass From $ 83
JR West Pass From $ 175
JR Hokkaido Pass From $ 152
JR Central Pass From $ 129
JR East Pass From $ 240

Latest Tips

By following your navigation on this website, you agree to the use of cookies in order to improve your user experience, provide personalized contents in consideration of your interests or to realize visits statistics. By continuing on this website, you agree to the use of cookies. To learn more and configure your preferences regarding cookies.